Schedule, format, teams, timing: All to know about the Indian Premier League 2024

Get ready for the cricket (IPL 2024) extravaganza! The Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024), the most lucrative franchise tournament in cricket, is back in action this weekend. Defending champions, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), are all set to kick off their title defense at home against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The 17th season of this thrilling T20 league begins on March 22nd at 8 PM local time (14:30 GMT) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, India. With the Chennai crowd known for their fervent support, expect an electric atmosphere as the five-time champions take the field.

Here’s a simplified breakdown of the IPL 2024 tournament schedule:

  • Start Date: The IPL 2024 tournament kicks off on Friday, March 22.
join our WhatsApp sarkari yojana
  • Partial Schedule: Initially, only the first 21 fixtures were announced until April 7. This was because the dates for India’s general election, which affects security and management, were not known at the time.
  • Reason for Partial Schedule: The organizers wanted to ensure smooth management and security during the tournament amidst the general election.
  • Election Dates: The election dates were announced later, spanning from April 19 to June 4.
  • Remaining Fixtures: The dates for the remaining fixtures of the IPL tournament are yet to be released, but they are expected to be announced soon.
  • Game Timings: Day games start at 3:30 pm local time (10:00 GMT), while night games start at 7:30 pm local time (14:00 GMT).

How many teams will play in Indian Premier League 2024?

The Indian Premier League 2024, or Indian Premier League, has seen fluctuations in the number of participating teams since its inception in 2008. Initially beginning with eight teams, the league has undergone various changes due to factors such as franchise suspensions, dropouts, and renaming. However, for the IPL 2024 season, there will be a consistent presence of 10 teams participating, marking the third consecutive season with this lineup:

  1. Chennai Super Kings
  2. Delhi Capitals
  3. Gujarat Titans
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders
  5. Lucknow Super Giants
  6. Mumbai Indians
  7. Punjab Kings
  8. Rajasthan Royals
  9. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  10. Sunrisers Hyderabad

This stable composition of 10 teams reflects the current structure of the IPL 2024 for the upcoming season, offering fans an exciting roster of franchises to support and follow throughout the tournament.

Indian Premier League 2024

The format of the IPL’s 2024 season has undergone several changes over the years, aiming to enhance the excitement and competitiveness of the tournament. This season, the format reverts to a round-robin structure, with all 10 teams playing against each other twice.

At the conclusion of the league stage, the top two teams will advance directly to the first qualifier match. Meanwhile, the teams placed third and fourth will compete in the eliminator match.

The winner of the first qualifier secures a spot in the final match, while the losing team gets another chance in the second qualifier against the winner of the eliminator. The victorious team in the second qualifier will join the first qualifier winner in the final showdown for the IPL title.

Here are the captains leading the 10 IPL teams for the upcoming season:

  1. Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni
  2. Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant
  3. Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer
  5. Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul
  6. Mumbai Indians: Hardik Pandya
  7. Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan
  8. Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson
  9. Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis
  10. Sunrisers Hyderabad: Pat Cummins
Indian Premier League 2024

IPL 2024 Venues and Home Teams

The IPL 2024 tournament will feature a home-and-away format, with each team competing against the other nine teams twice. While the venues for the qualifiers, eliminator, and final are yet to be confirmed, here are the venues and their corresponding home teams:

  1. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai – Home Team: Chennai Super Kings
  2. Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi – Home Team: Delhi Capitals
  3. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad – Home Team: Gujarat Titans
  4. M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru – Home Team: Royal Challengers Bangalore
  5. Eden Gardens, Kolkata – Home Team: Kolkata Knight Riders
  6. BRSABV Ekana Stadium, Lucknow – Home Team: Lucknow Super Giants
  7. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai – Home Team: Mumbai Indians
  8. Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium, Punjab – Home Team: Punjab Kings
  9. Swai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur – Home Team: Rajasthan Royals
  10. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad – Home Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad
  11. Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam – Home Team: Yet to be confirmed
  12. HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh – Home Team: Yet to be confirmed

Additionally, the Delhi Capitals will play their first two home games at Visakhapatnam in Andhra Pradesh, while the picturesque Dharamsala Stadium in Himachal Pradesh is also expected to host several matches.

Who are the past IPL champions?

  • Chennai Super Kings have won the IPL championship in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023.
  • Mumbai Indians emerged victorious in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders clinched the title in 2012 and 2014.
  • Rajasthan Royals secured the championship in 2008.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad claimed victory in 2016.
  • Gujarat Titans became champions in 2022.
  • Deccan Chargers won the IPL title in 2009.

Also Read

Rate it post